If you want to sell cars for a living in California you need to obtain a vehicle dealer license from DMV’s Occupational Licensing Division unless you meet one of the exceptions listed in California Vehicle Code § 286. The majority of prospective applicants contact DMV to get some preliminary information about the application process and licensing requirements. Those calls get routed to DMV Inspector Offices who are responsible for processing applications. Though some preliminary information is shared, they will direct you to take the required 6 hour pre-licensing course to get a comprehensive overview of the application process.
DMV requires applicants to take the course in person. This poses a problem for some folks who cannot find an affordable education provider near their location or who have scheduling conflicts. Based on our experience in the vehicle dealer industry it is in your best interest to take the course in person even if an online version is available. Having an experienced instructor walk you through the process is invaluable. Block out 6 hours of your day and take the dive. You will not be disappointed.
By now you’re probably familiar with the DMV Dealer Education Provider List. But you’re probably asking yourself who are these people? Education providers are private companies, not DMV employees.
DMV does not provide education providers with handbooks, manuals or other course materials to be used in class. Every provider is responsible for creating their own curricula. DMW ultimately decides whether to approve it or not. There are 40+ dealer pre-licensing programs out there. You should ascertain how long the company has been in business and specifically who will teach the course before you sign up. Some companies hire teachers who have no knowledge or experience in the subject matter to administer the course. They’re just there to get you through the day, a substitute teacher if you will. “The restroom is on your left, lunch is at noon, and we will get you out of here as quickly as we can!”
Why Dealer Intel?
Dealer Intel was approved as a DMV dealer education provider in 2007. The founder of the company has over 20 years of experience in the Auto Industry and is the sole course instructor. He obtained his California dealer license when he was 18 years old. Shortly thereafter, he became a DMV approved dealer education provider to get a better grasp of the legal framework surrounding the dealer industry. He quickly realized dealers and consumers were both ill informed on the laws governing the auto industry. He eventually enrolled in law school and currently runs a legal practice primarily focused on the auto industry representing both consumers and dealers alike. Unlike most providers, our course is taught from a legal perspective to assist you in limiting your litigation exposure.
Course Schedule & Location
Courses are administered every Saturday. They are limited to 3 students per class. Please check in with us regarding availability before you register and pay for the course.
The demand for this course has declined over the years due to increased competition and costs of running a dealership. Consequently, we no longer have a designated classroom. Courses are currently administered at local coffee shops in the Bay Area, mainly in Marin County. We also offer students the option of coming out to their office or location if its within 30 miles of San Francisco. A $50.00 traveling fee will apply.
We cannot reserve a course date if you do not prepay. Due to past cancellations we no longer collect payment at the beginning of class. Refunds will not be given under any circumstance though you are welcome to reschedule a class. If you wish to bring additional participants they must register and pay separately. We don’t provide discounts for multiple participants.